Gunzzz

Dome temp vs grill temp ??

This is not really specific to KamadoJoe but since I own the BJ this is where I'll post it. I'm new to kamado style cooking but am having great success to date. Probably around 40+ cooks so I'm getting a pretty good feel for the unit and how it performs. which brings me to my question. If you have a temperature stabilized grill, and a calibrated dome thermometer to what advantage is another number?? I see a lot of reference to grill temps and the need for it but it should be all about a point of reference. I know if my grill dome is stabilized at 270 for 15 min then I'm good to go for a butt. The same for 375 and for 600 deg depending on what's cooking. My point of reference is the dome, and as long as I'm consistent in how I use it then I should get consistent results. Adding another variable to the mix seems of no value at all. 

Comments??

I 100% agree with you! There are times that I'll place a grate thermometer in during a cook...but the only time I do that is when I am using probes to monitor internal temp(s) of meat. At that point I already have the thermometer out...might as well attach the grate probe ;-)

You're entirely correct. All the measurement shows is that there is a difference between dome and grill temperature. In other words, the closer you place your hand to the fire, the hotter it'll be. Result consistency is what matters.

OttawaP, 

Yes I think your correct and I depend on my dome thermometer for most cooks. However, it only works when you are standing in front of it. I generally use my remote 732 just to keep an eye on my grill when I am not standing in front of it. I set it on the coffee table while I watch football on a Saturday or Sunday cook, or carry it in my shirt pocket when I am moving around the house, at the cutting board,  or working in the garage. I find it extremely useful and set it up anytime my cook is going to go for over an hour or several hours.