Adjusting the top vs. the bottom vent? What's the reason for adjusting one over the other?

Still a big newbie here but this forum has really helped me out with getting started. I've been pretty happy so far with my meals on the Akorn since I got it a couple of months ago. By far my favorite meal to make is grilled pizza which I am now doing almost weekly. I also made some smoked salmon last weekend that was amazing, After Christmas, I can't wait to try a smaller brisket and see what happens.

Anyway, my question is around the difference in temperature control that comes with adjusting the top vent vs. the bottom. Is there any guidance as to why I might choose to adjust one over the other when making temp. adjustments? Is it a fair statement to say that the bottom vent is for large temperature adjustments while the top is for more fine control or is that not the case?

I know to not "chase" temps but I've been a little uncertain as to why I would want to adjust one vs. the other other than my thoughts above.

The bottom vent is for supplying air to your fire.

The top vent controls the air flow amount through the grill.

The vents need to be set in such a way that they correspond with each other.  That ratio is specific to your particular grill.  We can offer suggested ratios....but you'll get it figured out in quick time.

For my Akorn.....wide open throttle was both vents fully open.

250 was the bottom vent open the width of a pencil and the upper vent open only enough to put the pencil point through the round part at the bottom of each slit.

400 was 2 finger widths open on the bottom vent and a full pencil width for the top.

This is mostly my personal opinion however some of it is based in science. 

Top vent controls volume out  <-----
Bottom vent controls volume in  <---    this is the science part.

^^^^^together they control the air velocity through the cooker and over the fire.

Top vent open a bunch and bottom vent open a little creates a cleaner fire