funkahdafi

Getting to the good smoke

Hi guys,

I am still new to smoking. I am trying to get to the thin blue smoke but it always takes me forever. I have a lot of thick white smoke all the time. Any hints on how to get there faster?

I am using wood chunks btw, not chips. And I don't soak them in water.

However, my chunks are rather large. Could that be the reason (taking them forever to glow through)?

Thanks

Are there other ways too? I am not sure I am ready to "waste" a dutch oven for this. I don't mind having a little bit of white smoke in the beginning, if there is a method to turn it into thin blue smoke very quickly. 

I have the same issue. The way I figure is I try to limit the amount of wood which is in the fire while bringing up to temp. If. You are still raining the temps, you are feeding more air and the wood will burn dirtier, when you are at temp then the wood smoulders more with the good smoke. So I try to put the wood a bit further away from where I light it so that it starts smouldering a bit later. This is what I'm trying to do, but I can't say I've been completely successful yet. :)

IMO, "thin blue smoke" is an over rated concept. Get your pit to your target temp, and as long as a a lot grey or white smoke isn't blowing out of your top vent, toss in the food. I've done thousands of kamado cooks and can honestly say I have never looked for, or waited for, thin blue smoke. 

The other technique would be to lay a one layer of large lump at the bottom. Place your wood chunks is a circle around toward the center of fire box. Add two or more layers of lump. Leave a couple of pieces out of the center of create a ditch for lighting. Blast the center of your lump with a Mapp torch or Looftlighter.