Sign in to follow this  
scott6666

How to season correctly

So I'm a real newbie to all this. First time moving from the gas grill types.

Last gas grill I had rusted out like a summabitch. Probably as much lack of good habits by me. Want to avoid that with the Akorn.

Question is: what's the proper ways to season? I hear that you spray vegetable oil on the grates and heat it up real high. Is that the way to avoid rust? Should I spray everything on the inside (inner coating, fire bucket, etc) or only the grates?

My temptation is to spray EVERYTHING and crank it as high as it will go. Stop me now if I'm wrong. Built yesterday (super easy). Want to season today.

The only thing that needs seasoning in the Char-Griller Akorn Kamado is the cast iron cooking grate. Spray it down with cooking oil or rub it with crisco and then bring the grill up to NO HIGHER than 350-400 degrees for an hour or so. Spray the grill again and then close off all the air vents and let it cool. This will form a good initial seasoning.

After that, I just spray the grill with cooking oil before and after each use.

Just got my Akorn today. Brushed the grates down with a good coat of Crisco, and playing with the vents to get it to set in at 400. I was going to lay a few pieces of fatback on the grates, but I never went back out to the grocery store, so there's that...

Just got my Akorn today. Brushed the grates down with a good coat of Crisco, and playing with the vents to get it to set in at 400. I was going to lay a few pieces of fatback on the grates, but I never went back out to the grocery store, so there's that...

Congrats! Looking forward to some cooking photos soon!

19 minutes ago, Geraldine Ince said:

When you guys mention 350-400 degrees could you please confirm if the is Centigrade or Fahrenheit ???

Clearly  I’ve got a way to go on this !!!