Help! smoked whole chicken

Hi Everyone, This past weekend I smoked some prork ribs and a whole chicken. I was not happy with the results since I am new to all this I wanted to ask how others smoke a whole chicken. 

My goal is to smoke a turkey for Thanksgiving so this weekend I tired to do a whole chicken. I setup my coal added about 5 or 6 pieces of pecan wood set my pizza stone and added a water pan then my grill. The temp was about 190 -200 when i put everything on.

post-9995-0-79021000-1446077415_thumb.jp

Now this is where i might have went wrong can you do chicken and ribs together or should i just stick to one type or meat?

I smoked it for 4 hours and I thought everything looked good.
post-9995-0-22428200-1446077422_thumb.jp
post-9995-0-69012500-1446077418_thumb.jp
post-9995-0-29327700-1446077425_thumb.jp

The ribs came out ok but i felt it had a bit too much smoke but not too noticeable and could have been a bit more tender. The chicken on the other hand had problems. The skin was inedible because it was way too smokey or something. The meat was fine but one of my favorite parts is the skin. It also wasn't crispy(how do I get crispy skin?) like i wanted it. The temp was 230 for 3 hours then it jumped to 250 -280 the last hour. I took everything off when the internal temp hit 170. 

I am new to all this so please be kind. Please tell how you setup your grill and what temps you keep it at. I will just be doing chicken till thanksgiving.

post-9995-0-79021000-1446077415_thumb.jp

post-9995-0-69012500-1446077418_thumb.jp

post-9995-0-22428200-1446077422_thumb.jp

post-9995-0-29327700-1446077425_thumb.jp

I've never mixed the two...