Hello, I'm new to the PB Kamado family, and wold like to ask are you guys\gals really able to lock in your temps.  I have been able to lock temps with my Ugly Drum but with the PITBOSS it seems to want to jump around a bit.  It's not a huge deal but just wanted to know.  Yes, I did the insulation upgrades  mentioned on the board..  Thanks 

After I added the felt tape to the bottom and top vents I have had zero issues with control. What are you experiencing?

I totally ignore the dome gauge and use an infrared gun to take temps from the grill. I have a mini loaf pan that doesn't take up much real estate that I can shoot. I haven't done an overnight yet but the last time I did beef ribs, I was able to keep the grill at 250 for 5 hours with minimal adjustment. Not overshooting your initial temp is key, I think. It's hard to make any fast changes.

Hello, I'm new to the PB Kamado family, and wold like to ask are you guys\gals really able to lock in your temps.  I have been able to lock temps with my Ugly Drum but with the PITBOSS it seems to want to jump around a bit.  It's not a huge deal but just wanted to know.  Yes, I did the insulation upgrades  mentioned on the board..  Thanks 

Unlike your metal drum, Kamados have a lot of thermal inertia -- the ceramic holds heat and it takes a relatively long time to heat up and even longer time to cool down.

The trick is to not try and "chase" a target temperature by making adjustments to the vents too often.  With experience, you will get to know where the vents need to be for each temperature setting.  Set them and wait for the temperature to fully stabilize before making another change.  Its like steering a cargo ship verses a ski boat.

Also, the primary temperature control vent is the top one.