Sign in to follow this  
Smokehowze

Converting Electric Kitchen Ovens to Smokers

Converting Electric Kitchen Ovens to Smokers

I have been asked a number of time about my electric smokers made by converting cast off electric residential kitchen ovens.  I used converted electric ovens as my primary smokers well before I discovered the Kamado world.  Done properly and safely following accepted electrical practices, they are great for a wide range of uses!

I build my own by converting electric kitchen ovens to smokers and running them on 120 volts instead of 220 volts.  I have done several mainly using single ovens.  The one shown below that I have been using for several years is a double oven from a friend’s kitchen renovation. The upper oven is the main smoker and smoking dehydrator for use with smoke and the lower oven is reserved for a subsequent conversion to a (no-smoke/clean environment) dehydrator.  Simple to do these conversions if you have the right knowledge base and skills.  Works great once you fine tune the mechanics and get the hang of its characteristics.  Best thing is cast off ovens are often free and they are very well insulated!   With the right external PID type temperature controller and weather enclosure plus the smoke maze they are very inexpensive to do.  Just a bit of basic (re)wiring and mechanical skills needed.

The application of the external temperature controller and the home electric kitchen oven conversion makes this a very powerful and well controlled dehydrator, cold smoker chamber, sausage & jerky smoker and even a general smoker in a fully insulated system.  What more could one what in a “smoker”?

Here are some views my current conversion that gets a lot of use in sausage making.  This promptly got named the "Johnny Smoker" for the obvious similarity in silhouette and shape. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

1-The Johnny Smoker

1-The%20Johnny%20Smoker.jpg

2-Weatherproof Enclosure T1-11 Siding & Cement Board Doors