MichBadger

First cook fail - Baby back ribs

Hello all,

I was surprised on Christmas morning by my wife with a new Akorn.  Although I had looked at Big Green Eggs in the past, this was a complete surprise to me as I have no experience with smokers or even grilling, other than simple steaks, burgers and chicken breast on my trusty Weber propane grill.  I'm not sure where she got the idea other than hearing me complain about having to pay between $15-$20 pound for smoked brisket at the local take out smoked meat place or Dickeys and still being disappointed by the product.  (I haven't been on this forum enough to know if Dickeys is viewed as a cuss word around here??)

My starting goal on the Acorn is to do brisket and BB ribs.  I've tried brisket in the oven twice, with mixed results.  Neither attempt was good enough to leave the family raving for more.  I do make ribs in the oven about twice a month, using a low and slow method of sealing them up in a cake pan for about 5-6 hours at 225.  After adding some sauce at the end, the family loves them, as do I.  They are completely fall off the bone style, which I know is not what a lot of people like, but we do.

So I assembled the Akorn on the day after Christmas, bought a bag of Royal Oak lump and set out to season the grate.  We were leaving for a ski trip the next day, so I didn't have time to even think about messing around with meat.  I started with a very small pile of lump, just to see what I could do for temperatures.  After about 2 hours, I couldn't get the temperature over 300 so I went back and added more.  I did another 2 hours between 300 and 450 trying to make adjustments to see what I could do.  I did fairly well at reaching and holding temperatures using tips from here.