taters283

Tip top temp mod for akorn jr.

New to the forum! Hello!

I fitted a tiptoptemp to an akorn jr. without rtv. Used two 1/4 x 20 x 3" bolts, some garlock gasket material for the bolts, and a teflon gasket for the ttt to sit on. Guys this was too easy. Real clean installation.

Thanks for all the valuable input on here!

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Hey buddy! Im taters! Im a hell of a cook, and new to smoking. Picked my rig up, and bought the TTT for it based of everyone's recommendations here. I couldnt be more excited!

Hey buddy! Im taters! Im a hell of a cook, and new to smoking. Picked my rig up, and bought the TTT for it based of everyone's recommendations here. I couldnt be more excited!

b24c9d63b699eb12f62aecb05ef382c8.jpg4b1f70b5fb3f8383ca4f0fa9e7ad5e61.jpg

The bolts didnt line up perfectly with the damper bolts, so I humored them a bit. Will bend some ss bolts when I get to work monday.

Have you tried a high temp cook with the TTT mounted that way? And also does it shut down well? The top on mine does not completely close all the way which would let the fire smolder for hours instead of shutting down fast with the vents closed which I can do with my TTT mounted with a plate hanger and I can remove it in a few seconds for a high temp burn.

Welcome to the Guru and great mod for the TTT, have one for my Weber kettle and thought about using with my Jr but couldn't figure out a mod now you have given me one thanks!

Garvin

Right, cuz it didnt fit the hole! Luckily, I work at a place that has tons of high temp gasket material scrap laying around!

Have you tried a high temp cook with the TTT mounted that way? And also does it shut down well? The top on mine does not completely close all the way which would let the fire smolder for hours instead of shutting down fast with the vents closed which I can do with my TTT mounted with a plate hanger and I can remove it in a few seconds for a high temp burn.