Sign in to follow this  
KamadoSam

Pizza stone vs heat deflector

I took delivery of my KJ Classic 2 yesterday, and I am very very happy indeed. I'm totally new to BBQing but I have been learning a lot from this and some other forums out there - thank you all!

I'm wondering if the heat deflector can be used as a pizza stone? Or would that not work?

Cheers

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have a dedicated pizza stone I've had for 12+ years now. It's a deep black color and seasoned like a cast iron pan, it's almost non-stick. I wouldn't use my deflectors anyway because  mine typically have some burnt drippings on them that I wouldn't want to flavor my pizza in any way when the high temps start to burn off the reside on the deflectors.

Get an inexpensive pizza stone from one of the big box hardware stores or even Bed Bath and Beyond and use it, you won't be disappointed and invest in a peel. Metal works fine for a beginner or a wooden one seasons just like the stone will and makes a great presentation as you bring the pizza inside on it for a starving crowd!. I'm a value shopper and bought my metal one off of Amazon on the cheap. I even bought a nice rocking pizza cutter that works so much better that a round pizza cutter wheel we always used growing up.

There's something immensely satisfying as a griller hearing that rocking pizza cutter crunch through the crust on a hot pizza fresh off the grill. Plus the rocker doesn't move the toppings around like a pizza cutter does.

Heat deflectors are designed to deflect heat.  Pizza stones are designed to bake pizza.  Just because one piece of equipment looks like it could do a specific job doesn't mean you'll be satisfied with the results.  Most heat deflectors tend to get dirty over time and you'll think twice about putting a pizza on those dirty deflectors.  Use the proper tool for the proper job and you won't be disappointed with the results. 

I agree with the others, pick up a pizza stone.