Sign in to follow this  
KamadoSam

Buyers remorse... should have got a BJ?!

I literally just got my KJ Classic II yesterday and I'm already thinking I should have gone for the Big Joe... my rationale for going for the classic was cost and the fact that I would be cooking for 2 people 90% of the time.

However I have a BBQ for my birthday on Saturday and now I realise a Big Joe would have been best.

Does anyone have experience with the grill extender grate for multi-level cooking? Would you recommend it? Would you have to effectively cook two of the same type of food on both levels?

Sorry if these are noob questions, I am totally new to BBQing.

Some pics of my first cook attached too. Just wanted a quick cook to test out the new gear, and it was getting late so cooked up some chicken drumsticks, quick and easy.b7f146b8cd42abd3b698cbc681b39a12.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Congrats on your new classic, nothing wrong with multi-level cooking of different types of meats. My rule of thumb though is if cooking chicken and some other meat is the chicken always goes on the bottom. I feel it's safer letting the chicken drippings not drip on the meat below.

Congrats! I've cooked for 50 on an Akorn before, you should have more than enough room with a Classic to do a birthday party. We're a family of three with a Big Joe and sometimes it seems like a waste to fire that thing up for the amount of food I cook for one meal, especially if I'm just going to sear something that was cooked sous vide. A Classic is more than enough for most small families unless you're entertaining large crowds on the regular. I have a food truck and we cater a little bit as well, I can do about 50 lbs of meat at max in a single batch on the Big Joe and we're already needing more capacity. Unless you have that kind of need, a Classic is just fine. Get the extender grate and you'll have plenty of room!