diver165

Fire Up Charcoal Igniter

I'm new to ceramic cooking.  I've always been a chimney starter BBQer.  And when I looked at getting a ceramic grill I was told that these were a no no since it defeats the purpose of lighting in one place.  It was recommended I try a Looflighter.  At 80.00 I was kinda stunned.  I started looking around and found many alternatives but they were all in the same price range.  That is until I stumbled by the Fire Up Charcoal Igniter found at Home Depot.  At just 39.95 I was curious.   I must say, while I've never used a Looflighter, I can't say it would out perform this one.  It lit my bowl of Royal Oak Lump in less than 1 min (more like 30 seconds).  I must say I was impressed!  It has a 3 position switch (OFF, Fan, Fan/Heat).  Once you get the coals a nice healthy orange flip it over on fan for a second.  That keeps the air flowing and gets the coals started.  

For the price I am impressed.  

39.95 at Home Depot.  It can also be found slightly cheaper on Amazon.

Model # CC4111   

There are lots of ways to start your grill.  I just wanted to point out that there is a cheaper alternative to a somewhat expensive BBQ tool and it's readily available at HD.