bosco

ThermoWorks infrared gun

I just ordered an IR gun for my pizza oven. My wife is buying it for me for Christmas and I have no knowledge with respect to them. If anyone has any experienece or knowledge with respect to this model it would be appreciated.  

Hi Temp Industrial IR w/Circle Laser (IR-IND)

8181A0E6-F12A-49C9-B40F-7CEADCCD9AAE.jpeg.1de5e96ad467531d3529411fe6adf212.jpeg

NEW! Circle laser for better targeting

Professional IR tool

Max/Min, °C/°F, Avg, Alarm

Reads type K probes

30:1 optic range

I also have a one of their IR meters but a different model. It works great but you might

want to take at look at "Emissivity" and how it relates to accurate readings. Here is a

link to the Thermoworks page on it...

http://www.thermoworks.com/emissivity_table

Various surfaces reflect differently and will affect the readings you get. Sounds like a

really nice Christmas present. Enjoy!

I have one of those, but not completly sure of the model. Works fantastic. Gives a good read out on what ever you point it at. On top of reading the temp off my pizza stone, and grills,  i have used mine to check the temp of wine in unopened bottles, to check for air leaks around my windows, even heat flow from my heater registers, and the temp off my diesel engine block, turbo, wheel cylynders after towing, etc. Great little tool. One of the best uses is to determine a cooler spot in your grill, as the location changes from fire to fire. Have fun with it. 

If you ever did care about the actual temperature of a surface and don't want to mess around trying to find the right emissivity setting you can buy one of these: http://www.thermoworks.com/PRB-K-030

Since the IR thermo you are looking at accepts Type K probes it will give you the real surface temp.

If you are never going to take advantage of the ability to use a Type K probe then these days any of the $15 IR thermos will work just as well.