In2Fish

Kamado coffee

I picked up some Peruvian coffee beans a while back and decided to roast them.  1st batch was in the kitchen in a skillet. this batch was done w/ the Joetisserie.  I roasted to beans until just over the 1st crack stage. I initially thought I over did it based on the smell (a bit burnt smelling). I'm not a coffee aficionado, but once the beans cooled and were ground, the coffee tasted great to me.

The beans were acquired with w/ the parchment intact.  I used the food processor and the dough blade to knock off the parchment.   For you coffee drinkers out there, it's something worth trying.

DSCN2913.JPG

DSCN2916.JPG

DSCN2917.JPG

DSCN2918.JPG

DSCN2922.JPG

DSCN2926.JPG

DSCN2927.JPG

Looks like you got pretty even results. I have been roasting coffee for the last four years but recently quit caffeine.  (I hated HAVING to have it or the killer headache that would follow). I loved my gene cafe coffee roaster, and have tried a couple decaf batches with it. 

Ok, so being a little geeky...  here's the exact location of the 'restaurant' where the coffee bean originated.  We stopped here for breakfast during my October  fish collecting trip.  It was a non-collecting day and we explored the old Inca 'highway' for about 3 hours after breakfast, and we were up to about 15,000 feet.  A cold rainy and at times snowy/sleety day.   The old road was the main road 4-5 years ago, and it was basically a single lane 'road' , not paved, just dirt/gravel, no lights, no catseyes, to guard rails, no nothing... and at time  the edge of the road was a sheer drop-off.

https://www.google.com/maps/place/13°29'56.9"S+70°54'01.2"W/@-13.4991389,-70.901144,330m/data=!3m2!1e3!4b1!4m6!3m5!1s0x0:0x0!7e2!8m2!3d-13.4991253!4d-70.9003425!5m1!1e1