Brave Sir Robin

New Ceramic Akorn - initial thoughts and first cure

Hey all, I'm new here. I just got my first kamado delivered yesterday, a ceramic Akorn. I'm new to this, but I know there isn't a ton of information out about this grill, so I wanted to provide some first impressions and maybe ask a few questions.

I started assembly around 10 this morning, and I was done by about 11:30. I did it all myself (well, my 4-year-old "helped"). I even lifted the egg into the nest myself. I wouldn't necessarily recommend it, but if you have a strong back and you don't want to wait for help, it can be done.

Assembly was easy enough. I accidentally over tightened one of the nuts for one of the shelves and broke off the screw, but there are eight screws holding each shelf, so it's not a problem. One of the legs stuck out a little and had to be pulled back to attach it to the lower tray.

Speaking of the legs, I was impressed with how heavy they are. I was worried the metal might be too thin, but it's a good heavy gauge tube. Once assembled, the whole thing seems pretty sturdy and well made.

I'm not so impressed with the grates. They are supposed to be porcelain coated cast iron. But the enamel does not seem to be good quality. The grates will require some care or they will rust. Sooner or later I will probably replace them with stainless, which I would prefer anyway.