Sign in to follow this  
540perry

Replacement thermometer ideas?

Sorry if this has been covered, I didn't see it in my search.

Has anyone found a good replacement dome thermometer that fits the existing 2" bezel? I'd like to replace the stock unit if possible.

Thanks.

Remember, the dome thermometer reads the temperature at the end of its little probe - but what is important is the grate temp. If you think about it, its kind of wrong to expect the dome thermometer to tell you the grate temperature especially if its a pos bimetallic.

I am just 2 weeks into ownership of the the CGK. I like it a lot, I think its' going to do some great low'n'slow cooks and I already know it sears a great steak.

I've been using a WSM for 7 years. I had installed a dome thermo (my model didn't have one), and discovered that the grate temp & dome temp would equalize 30 minutes into an indirect cook. I did experiment with a TruTemp electronic, but quit since the dome thermo was doing the job.

I did an indirect chicken cook on the CGK today, and wound up overcooking it a bit, which makes me believe either:

* The thermodynamics of the CGK are way different from the WSM, or

* The dome thermo was giving me a low reading (maybe 25-50 off?)

So I figured I'd try it with a good dome thermo first to see what's up. I'm not opposed to drilling the thermo port larger to accommodate a better gauge, if I can't find one that fits the bezel.

Mike

Mike - I don't know of a single good dome thermometer, not one. Don't throw your money away. If you're serious about good BBQ, please get a good dual probe electronic thermometer with temp alarms! I don't know of very many kamado cooks that ever trust their dome thermometers.

Oh, btw, if you insist on using bimetallics, you do know you should calibrate that thermometer, right? There's a sticky on how to calibrate you should be able to find using the search function.