nicknolte

Help Identifying and restoring!

Hi All, 

I'm new to the Kamado family, I have an AKorn and fell in love with them. Tonight I had the chance to purchase an "original" tiled Kamado! I bought it and am now wondering what I have and how to go about getting the lower band :) I've talked to my wife about the tile, there are a couple missing. The lower pot inside is in tact. Any hep would be appreciated :) 

Kamado2.JPG

Kamado1.JPG

Welcome to the forum, @nicknolte!

I have moved this post to the “Other Kamados” section since it is not a Kamado Joe grill. 

I’m sure some of our pros will expand further, but I believe what you have is a Richard Johnson Kamado and I’m sure you will find out a lot as you research it.

That's a Richard Johnson creation, looks like a K7 and appears to be an older model by the looks of the wheel base.

There are a couple of lengthy threads in this sub forum on restoring these Kamados. Once restored and with some TLC

you should get many years of good service out of it.

The tough part of the restoration will be acquiring the bands with lift tubes and hinge assembly.

It actually is more of an entire unit in which the hinge holds the bands together and the lift assist tubes

are connected -welded- to both the upper and lower bands. Attached are pictures of the hinge and a

lift tube connected to the top and bottom bands.

A real long shot would be to find someone who has an unusable K7 and would be willing to part it out.

Another source might be Rocket Kamados. They bought out RJ's business so you might check with them

for parts.

http://www.kamadorocket.com/kamadorocket/kamado-rocket-barbecue-grill/kamado-rocket-barbecue-grill-model-specifications/

A third option would be to fabricate the bands yourself or have someone do it for you.

Welcome to the forum and Good Luck!

Hinge connecting the two bands in the back.

DSC_0567.JPG.c6d4e726644d1ac31515190ed074878d.JPG

Lift tube connected to upper and lower bands.