Yazamitaz

First time firing up a pizza on the Akorn

Well last week the weather broke here in NJ. It wasn't raining or 97 degree with 98% humidity. A buddy had just done a pizza on his Akorn and it inspired me to give it a try. I have been using the following recipe for homemade pizza for about 2 years now and it has served me well: https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bobby-flay/pizza-dough-recipe-1921714

As I have been lurking and reading as much as possible and getting great advice from many of your posts I decided to set up my cook area to bring the pizza stone off of the grill grates and higher in the dome.

IMG_2387.thumb.JPG.ced12c7cd6c13bd1ab48bd97788cdbad.JPG

I built a basic volcano with lump and started it with a wax cube. I have the vents wide open. When the temp hit around 400 I shut the top down to 2 and the bottom to 2. I hit my desired temp and shut her down to the half moon at the top and the screw at the bottom.

IMG_2386.thumb.JPG.fcf760386c8f9cec597320fc754e8605.JPG

Here is the margherita pizza assembled and ready to hit the stone.

IMG_2382.thumb.JPG.0b07cd80b20c2ebc3e500bf6a046e07c.JPG

Here is the finished result. I know the picture doesn't do it justice but the crust had a great crunch and all of the toppings were melted and cooked perfectly. This is the first time I have ever made a homemade pizza where it didn't need to be assembled and cooked in stages so the crust crisped up and the toppings were cooked and melted. My family LOVED this pizza. It had a great hint of smoke which resembled what you would get in a wood fired pizza in a restaurant.

IMG_2391.thumb.JPG.1282019cd90f49080652f15cfc543cff.JPG

The dough recipe I provided above yields about 3 12 oz dough balls for you to work with. We also made two pepperoni pizzas but you can only upload so many pics. I will show them in a comment to this thread. I will NEVER make a homemade pizza in the over ever again. We loved this and plan on doing this more often.