BBQVT

Advice on fixing a rusted bottom airflow/ash door

Hello, 

I inherited a *really* nice traditional Kamado that my dad brought back from Japan in the 70s or early 80s.  He never used it - it sat inside the house for decades - so it is generally in great shape.  However, the sliding metal access piece on the bottom rusted fairly badly, enough that I've been unable to open it with gentle pressure.  I don't want to break it,  but I do need to get it working, or replaced.  I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas of how I might coax it open, or if not, where I might look for some kind of replacement part?  Photos included - thanks!

IMG_0048.jpeg

I'm not an expert, but my first attempt would be to use WD40, being careful to not get it on the raw ceramics.

Two basic tools:

If it moves and shouldn't duct tape

if it doesn't move and should, WD40

I assume it is a clay pot  - not ceramic. That being the case clay tends to be somewhat less absorbent compared to  porous ceramics. 

Fluid Film is a penetrating fluid that is food safe. Readily available here in Canada. Not sure about your location. It would be my first choice if you can find some where you live.

Failing that I would spray the hell out of it with the next best thing you can get your hands on and repeat daily until it [hopefully] breaks loose.  Heat it up a few times prior to cooking any actual food on it and good to go. 

WD40 would be my last choice. 

+1 to using edible oils to free it. This is one place that shouldn't get hot enough to burn it off. Conversely, if you can't fix it, you'd have to replace it. I use a far wider range of this vent than I expected.