Sign in to follow this  
John Setzler

Gonna Cure a Fresh Ham

I have sourced a high quality whole ham, bone in, skin on.  I plan to prep that ham and then cure it.  I am studying different methods of curing and I believe I want to wet cure it in a brine using the equilibrium method.  

@Smokehowze - if you are still around....

I am reading Ruhlman's Charcuterie book...  His general working ratio for dry cure is 2 parts salt to 1 part sugar, plus 10% of their combined weight of pink salt.  Pink salt goes in at the rate of 1g per lb of meat.  

Does this same formula work for an equilibrium wet cure if you work from the combined weight of the meat and the water?  For instance:

10lb ham plus 2 gallons of water (8.3lbs) for 18.3lb total...

Pink Salt - 18g 

Salt - 112g 

Sugar -  51g

IF those numbers are good, how long would the wet cure need to go?  I plan to inject the ham thoroughly with the brine to speed up the process but if this cure is going to take a month or longer to do, I am gonna have to cure a different way...

Thanks in advance!

John

I am in Japan and do not have my info database handy as it is on computer at home.  Let me pull some data for you -  see below.  .  I may see if my son can access my spreadsheet and get the calculations done. 

Key info needed:  What is the weight of the ham and approx max thickness to bone and an average thickness. ? And how much brine solution will take to full immerse it?   And what % salt and sugar do you want?  Those are the critical numbers to calculate the right Cure #1, salt and any sugar.  156 ppm for the cure is a good value. 

It may take, even with injection which is a key thing to do, two weeks at least.  You would inject the brine solution which starts out more concentrated and eventually the non brine water in meat and the cure solution both injected and external exchange  with the meat water and each other and attain equilibrium to the final percentages.