Alpharetta_EggHead

Can you trust the grill thermometer?

Newbie here, with a newbie question. I recently purchased a XL Big Green Egg (used). When I did my first cook, I used my ThermoWorks Smoke thermometer for ribs. For most of the first couple of hours, there was a 30+ degree difference with my probe thermometer. For instance, my Smoke said it was 275, but the thermometer on the grill said 240, although both of them ended up being the same. But they weren't the same in the beginning, and I think there's a big difference between 30+ degrees in the opening hours of smoking BBQ ribs.

(1) So who do you trust?

Also, this is a related question: How much charcoal would you advise putting down for a BGE? I know they say to fill it up to the rim, but that seems a little wasteful when I'm only cooking a few chicken breasts on an XL. However, I could be wrong there, meaning that perhaps the charcoal operates more efficiently when at full power. (2) Thoughts? 

This is the most common 'issue' people run into when using electronic thermometers in an charcoal grill or smoker.  I am a FIRM believer in using the dome thermometer for cooking.  I have never had a failed cook when using the dome thermometer.  You will also not likely ever get the dome and the grate temp to read the same thing.  It might even out after a few hours of cooking without opening the lid.

I trust my dome thermometer BEFORE trusting the electronic probe on the grate.  There a several issues that will cause your grate thermometer to be off.  

1 - if it's too close to the meat it will experience a cooling effect.

2 - if it's too close to the outer edge where hot air is coming up from around the heat deflector, it will read hotter.

In reality, you need your grate level probe to be at least 2" away from the meat and at least 2 or 3" inside from the outer edge of not more before it will give you an accurate reading.