Tex

Hello From the Great State of Texas

Hey Y'all!!

Welp I gone and did it,just ordered the Classic! 

A little background....

I've been BBQing for around 33 years,several of those years in competition. I have a Pitts and Spitts stick burner and a Mac II Star General and never really considered a ceramic cooker.

But after reading up on em I became intrigued by their versatility and their temp holding ability over long cooks.

Looking forward to a new cooking adventure and picking y'alls brains for technics.

Welcome Tex, glad to have both you and your Joe with us. The KJ Classic is a great kamado and will serve you well. A kamado, in actuality, is really more of a charcoal fired convection oven than it is simply a BBQ or smoker. You can pretty much cook anything in your new kamado that a chef can cook in an oven, from all the BBQ classics through bread, pies, pizza, fancy and traditional kitchen recipes, brazes and anything else that strikes your fancy. Just a simple spatchcock chicken on a kamado is a glorious thing. There is just something about the kamados moist cooking environment that sets it apart from the normal range of grills and smokers. Enjoy your new kamado and the forum conversation as well.. 

Yep...

The versatility is what really caught my attention.

The idea of being able to smoke and sear as well as being able to make a pizza intrigued me.

Looking forward to the challenge of maintaining cook temps which is always interesting on a new rig. 

5 minutes ago, Tex said:

Yep...

The versatility is what really caught my attention.

The idea of being able to smoke and sear as well as being able to make a pizza intrigued me.

Looking forward to the challenge of maintaining cook temps which is always interesting on a new rig.