MrT

Maintaining Temps

Hey, y'all!  First off, I'm new to grilling this way and it's even opened up the door to smoking now!  I used to hate to grill but now that I have my Kamado, I honestly get excited about cooking on it!  I've discovered a lost love I didn't know I had for smoking!  LOL  Anyways, while this thing is so friggin awesome to cook/smoke on I'm racking my brain at this thing being consistent with the temperature.  Here's what's got me.....  Right now, I'm smoking some chicken, but this happens whether I'm smoking or plain grilling.  So, I light my lump coal and let it burn for about 10 minutes with the bottom damper wide open and the lid open.  Then I shut the lid and bring the Kamado up to 270 (going by the thermometer on the dome).  At this point I'm ready to start cooking!  I open the lid to throw my applewood chunks in, put the heat deflector in and then the cooking grate.  I close the lid and run in to get the chicken.  I come back outside, open the lid to put the chicken on and close the lid again.  At this point, the thermometer on the dome has cooled down to about 125 or so.  I never messed with the to or bottom damper settings, so I figured the temperature would eventually catch back up to the 270'ish range.  But it never did!  I let it sit for like 30 minutes and the temp never rose about 120'ish range.  I was hardly getting any smoke so I opened my top and bottom dampers all the way to get the fire back up again.  Finally, the temps started to rise again and I closed the dampers down, but I had to keep the top and bottom dampers open more than what I had them at before just to keep it at the temperature I needed.  Shouldn't the same, initial damper settings I used to get it to 270 when I first fired it up, put me right back to 270 (eventually) after I've opened and closed the dome to put the meat on?  Maybe there is more science going on here than just keeping the same air flow settings??  Any help or advice is GREATLY appreciated!