Sign in to follow this  
NickM

corned beef brisket (not pastrami)

So the family requested a more tender brisket style from the corned beef rather than a harder pastrami. This is my first time trying this and I want to make sure I have the general idea down. Advise, comments, and suggestions are appreciated. 

Right now I have a 4 pound corned beef from Costco in water to get rid of some of the salt. 1 water change per hour per pound. So, 4 hours in the water with a change every hour. Once I get that done, next is a good seasoning of primarily back pepper and coriander, plus other spices to taste. 

Tomorrow I'll get my Akron to 250, aided with some Hickory. 

Slow go the corned beef until the internal temp reaches 150. 

Double wrap the corned beef in tin foil and continue to cook until internal temp hits 205. 

A few questions: 1) I assume I'm using the heat deflector/cooking stone the whole time? 2) should I spray the corned beef with some water before I warp it in foil? 3) Does any of this sound "about right" or am I way off? 

Thanks for the time to help a newbie out. 

As mentioned, indirect  - use a heat deflector - through the entire cook. Spraying is optional and

I would put a little beef broth in with the meat when you foil it. The only thing which I see as "way off"

is me - about 2,000 miles. LOL! Sounds delicious. Enjoy!

I have done this, and I did 2 side by side, one with soaking and one without.  I honestly could barely tell a difference (I can't remember how long I soaked, but I know I changed the water atleast 2 times) I also don't believe I wrapped mine, but mine were points so they are more forgiving.  If you have flats I'd definitely wrap.  They turned out great.  I actually bought one so I can do it.... Maybe next weekend.