Sign in to follow this  
Tioga

Im looking to move up to my first ceramic kamado. Suggestions?

I have several years of experience with the Akorn kamado and I'm thinking of moving up to my first ceramic kamado. I'm hoping to get better temperature control and cooking zone versatility with the ceramic. My budget is about $800 max. I'm thinking about the Lowes Kamado Joe that includes the divide and conquer system. Please advise me if you think my choice is a good one or if you recommend another kamado in my price range. Thanks in advance.

I also recently upgraded from an Akorn to a ceramic. I went with a Kamado Joe Big Joe. The Kamado Joe you saw at Lowe's, I assume it was the Classic? If so, that's an excellent grill. Also, take a look at Pit Boss. You can find them at Costco. And don't forget to take a look at Vision Grills kamado, usually found at Sam's Club. Those three grills should all be within your budget. In my opinion, I'd lean more towards the Kamado Joe Classic or the Vision.

Of course, as with any purchase of anything, it boils down to what's best for you. Take your time, shop around. Build a pro/cons list and make an informed decision. The great thing about this forum is you can ask questions to the very owners of those grills and more.

I’ve owned a large BGE and now have a Vision grill. I think the Vision is a nice grill, would work fine for you  and would let you cook anything up to a 16 lb turkey with ease. That said, from my admittedly limited reading, it appears to me that the Kamado Joe folks have a more innovative and flexible cooking system.