Shenkbri

First cook on the Slow n Sear Kamado

As I’ve been using a slow n sear in my kettles for about four years and know what to expect from it, I’ve decided to do my first few cooks in the new grill in a traditional set up. 

I cooked two racks of spare ribs at 225 with a water pan under the heat deflector. This provides some serious steam. The ribs cooked for 6.5 hours. I rubbed one rack with Dizzy Pig Swamp Venom and the other rack with Meathead’s Memphis Dust. I also employed a mustard based bbq sauce on one of the racks. 

Temps were very stable for the entire cook. And the ribs...were delicious

A722BF56-6982-4AB7-9831-396B6F89485A.jpeg

A359415A-A104-499E-8AAA-81D50B6BCA4D.jpeg

E292FB4A-D052-4997-B77A-0CA5A107EB2B.jpeg

3 hours ago, Shenkbri said:

As I’ve been using a slow n sear in my kettles for about four years and know what to expect from it, I’ve decided to do my first few cooks in the new grill in a traditional set up. 

I cooked two racks of spare ribs at 225 with a water pan under the heat deflector. This provides some serious steam. The ribs cooked for 6.5 hours. I rubbed one rack with Dizzy Pig Swamp Venom and the other rack with Meathead’s Memphis Dust. I also employed a mustard based bbq sauce on one of the racks. 

Temps were very stable for the entire cook. And the ribs...were delicious

A722BF56-6982-4AB7-9831-396B6F89485A.jpeg

A359415A-A104-499E-8AAA-81D50B6BCA4D.jpeg

E292FB4A-D052-4997-B77A-0CA5A107EB2B.jpeg

How do you like this Kamado? 

34 minutes ago, Marbque said:

How do you like this Kamado? 

I’ve only done one cook it it so far. But the inaugural run was fantastic. 

It’s a great value, it’s 22 inches and comes with ALOT of accessories. 

I will post more cooks in the coming days and continue to comment on its performance