itskrod00

KAMADO JOE- CERAMIC GRILL MYTH?

Hello all,

I currently own a weber summit charcoal and i am not sure if i will keep it or not. 

I love the thing cooks awesome.  But the innovative seamless accessories ex. DoJoe and Joetisserie that the Kamado Joe come with look super awesome, and I feel like Weber seems to neglect their bigger grills with the accessories they currently have for smaller units. 

That being said am i crazy for wanting to switch over? 

Is it true that the Joe (ceramics) take long to heat up and if you overshoot (good luck bringing the temp back down) ??

Is it a pain only cooking with lump or briquettes?

Would like some some feedback if you think i should switch and about the heating up of ceramics. 

Well, I'm not an expert and I've never even seen the Summit in person. That said, while it is true that kamados take longer to get up to temp than, say, a Weber kettle, or a barrel cooker, there's not a lot of difference between the Akorn, for instance, and a Weber Smokey Mountain. Both take about 20 minutes.

And once at temp, the kamado will hold temps better than anything I've used over the last 40+ years. I've never had a problem getting up to or controlling temp with either of my kamados--BGE and Akorn. Cool-down...to zero or close by...on the other hand, takes three to four hours. 

It really depends on what you want to do. Open air grilling isn't really a thing on Kamados.

But pizza is! 'Nuff said.

Yeah on my summit I dont really do open air grilling.  Lid is usually always closed. Only open to check the status of whatever it is im cooking. honestly it takes about 15-20 min for me to light a chimney full of charcoal. I did rad that ceramic take longer to bring up ot temp and then if you bring them up to fast that it may be hard for you to bring temps back down (in timely manner) if you over shoot?  Any truth to this?