SPORO

Advice on Getting Started

I just ordered a KJ Classic II over the weekend, and I am beyond excited to start learning and cooking on it when it arrives! I have heard that one should do a few "dry runs" where you heat the grill up without any food before cooking on it. When I was looking at different kamado brands in person, one sales rep told me it was necessary to "set" the ceramic or something like that by heating it up to a few hundred degrees for at least 30 minutes before trying to cook anything on it. I'm honestly a bit skeptical of that claim, but I'm also new to this style of grill, and since it's a significant investment, I obviously want to treat it well and take care of it so that I can enjoy cooking with it for years to come. Anyway, sorry for rambling. I'm looking forward to any advice and suggestions on getting my grill set up and cooking once it arrives! Suggestions on what to cook first also welcome! My wife and I were talking about it the other day and were a bit undecided. Thanks in advance!

No need for a “burn in” and no idea what that fellow was trying to tell you. But a dry run is a good idea to get used to the vent settings, playing with charcoal, etc. There are like a jillion videos on this site and YouTube and Kamado Joe that show the basics. So load up and light some coal, sit back with a frosty beverage, and play. Or just cook! 

For a first cook try pulled pork. It’s forgiving, tasty and will get you schooled on vent settings. 

1 hour ago, SPORO said:

by heating it up to a few hundred degrees for at least 30 minutes before trying to cook anything on it.

That is usually how long it takes me to get my grill up to cooking temperatures, and I've had mine for 3 years.

Hi