Sign in to follow this  
Braaimaster

Temperature readings

G'day folks, noob to the forum and relative noob to the Kamado. I have several years of direct grill experience growing up in South Africa where its practically a national sport, however, this slow cooking is a different beast in itself.

I've had good success with the reverse sear however its the low and slow which is proving to be tricky. Having watched numerous videos, most (if not all) cooks use a secondary thermometer on the grill itself rather than the built in Kamado. I'm starting to think that my brisket and short rib cooked at a higher temp than expected. 

How crucial is it having a secondary thermometer and is there any deviation out the box that needs to be adjusted.

May thanks

The secondary thermometer with a wireless remote is crucial to not sitting by the grill all day (or night). Where you put the probe will change what it reads, but once you get to know your grill, it's really a matter of convenience. Alarms are helpful in long cooks, as are multiple probes. 

Play with it, you learn more that way. 

Have fun,

Frank

On my Akorn the dome thermometer will have barely budged off 0 degrees when my grate probe is already reading 150-200 degrees.  So I'd say it's a pretty good tool to have especially when firing up the cooker.

BTW if you decide to get one I highly recommend the Thermoworks Smoke.  Might seem pricey comparatively but worth every last penny.  Buy cheap, buy twice as the saying goes :)

I started learning low & slow cooking 3 years ago on a plain old Weber kettle using charcoal briquettes.  I purchased a dual-probe remote thermometer because a probe on the grate was the only way to track what was going on inside the thing, and the alarm feature was necessary because the briquettes tend to burn very quickly (I usually had to add more every 90 minutes or so).  I was terrified of running out of fire 3/4 of the way through a 10 pound boston butt cook.