Steve325

Louisiana grill kamado from Costco

I’ve been eyeing this for a few months and looking around and comparing. I’m on a budget, but I don’t want to cheap out and make the wrong choice. It seems like with some modifications like the felt on the top and sealing the ash vent on the bottom solves most of the issues with this kamado. What are your thoughts on charcoal usage? I have been considering a smaller one because sometimes I’d like to just cook a few steaks or burgers rather than throwing on a full packer brisket. Anything I should know before jumping on this? 

@Steve325

I need to save this reply I end up typing every 2 days about the Pitt Boss/Louisiana K24:

1. Great all around smoker/grill for the price. Great size.

2. Hinge nuts come loose if you mess with them/tighten them too much. If you do, you'll need to apply loctite and snug them but not too tight. Tighten until they are touching the washers, then loosen a half turn. Then let the loctite set overnight.

3. I hate the deflector/ceramic platesetter it comes with. It leaves too much of a gap and sits too high when used legs up for smoking. It's too close to the grate, and leaves no room for a drip pan.

4. Top vent 100% needs an extra layer of felt to seal properly.

5. Bottom damper needs some massaging to tighten. Some people add felt, I tapped the slider channels tighter with a hammer.

6. Combination of 4 & 5, if you don't fix them, prevents you from holding low temps, and prevents the grill from snuffing out the coals when you are done. 6 hours later with both top & bottom vents closed, open the lid and you'll see glowing coals. The next time you go to use it, open the lid and all the charcoal is gone, the only thing left is ash.

All of that sounds bad but.. fix the top & bottom vents, and lastly, get a Woo ring from ceramicgrillstore, and a 16" pizza stone. This gives you the following: