Another Pizza

len440

Had a little trouble lighting the charcoal. I think it was because of all big pieces and no small pieces , had to move some coals around and relight the right side.But once it caught awat it went.

The world has gone Super Size (for the worst) - I'm not fond of XL lump. MD and LG pieces work best. XL can give you problems when lighting and can have problems jump from one XL piece to the next XL piece when doing low-n-slow. 

Sometimes it's better to buy the XL lump. Then the smallest pieces in the bag are medium and you can always bust up the XL pieces. 

I have been using rockwood charcoal (last 2 bags ) i used to use royal oak for the last 15 years or so but last 3 bags were nothing but 1/2 dollar size and below pieces. That load in the first pic was as it came out of the bag very very few small pieces. Only had this kamado joe 2 since last july so i'm still learning about the fire management, lot different than using a chimney  with my other grills. This rockwood doesn't smoke as much on startup and doesn't impart as much smoke flavor as the royal oak.I think the rockwood may be cooked more at the charcoal place cause it sounds more  musical clinks when dumping (make sense)? I may do a butt soon so i can compare it with the royal oak. I'm keeping a log book as i learn the grill so i can compare the results. rereading this post make me think if the wood is cooked more at the manufacture besides making it sound lighter when poured the volitives in the wood may be cooked out more which might make less smoke on start up. Any opinions? 

50 minutes ago, len440 said:

i used to use royal oak for the last 15 years or so but last 3 bags were nothing but 1/2 dollar size and below pieces.