bbqnerd

Help with brisket trimming

I am making my first brisket and I am super excited. But I am feeling nervous about the brisket I choose because it has a portion of it that I don’t quite understand how to trim and hoping I didn’t choose a bad brisket. Butcher was grabbing the briskets from the back so I didn’t get to look at all of them.

You can notice the treated part and having to trim some of it but I’m worried.

D1777834-5B59-4C12-B83B-39874C16F07B.jpeg

F4798A8A-6300-4806-9F60-348DC5723B12.jpeg

E33F3FD7-D7E1-4392-8626-9363DBF3B4D7.jpeg

56FAC886-C378-46E8-8E81-2ADE4EC47F47.jpeg

I don't know too much about briskets but i think the hole where you circled is where they remove a gland of some type. Please keep us posted i'm somewhat new to kamado cooking. Good luck 

My son showed me this video that might help. But there are many ways to skin a cat.Look at the forums here and on the internet. Lots of good (?) info on the internet but beware.

https://video.search.yahoo.com/search/video?fr=mcafee&p=trimming+a+brisket+video#id=5&vid=50358ceb557360a56b27aaac0085d9d5&action=click

A bit long and the camera angle isn't the best, but you can't go wrong learning from Aaron Franklin. He even points out some differences between home/ restaurant trimming and competition trimming.

As for your circled picture, my best guess is some of the hard deckle between the point and the flat has already been removed.

The first thing I would do is take it out of the packaging and lay it out on a flat surface. Then you will know what you are dealing with.  It looks like it could be folded over somehow.   

Thank you for everybody response and I actually have Franklins' Masterclass videos and watch plenty of videos. 

The main concern is that dimple or cavity where its pretty deep but it seems nobody is too concern so I am somewhat relieved. I will update the post when I get it open tomorrow and actually trim it.