As the title suggests, I am looking for help getting my Akorn to act the way I want it to for smoking purposes. 

I have the smoking stone, use a water pan, and lower my dampers until it basically snuffs out my fire, but I cannot seem to keep my Akorn at 225. 

Now, I will admit that I am new to smoking and that there is a lot to be learned, but I have read tons of guides and watched videos and replicated them to my best ability, but still cannot get it to work for me. 

Currently, my process is this:

1. Open dampers all the way
  2. Fill bottom of grill full of hardwood lump
  3. Light with cotton balls soaked in alcohol
  4. Toss in a couple chunks of hickory
  5. Place my smoking stone
  6. Place my water pan
  7. Close lid and let set until 150
  8. Close dampers halfway until 180
  9. Close dampers again halfway until 210
  10. Close dampers halfway one last time to about .5 on top and bottom.

1 of 2 things happens here. Either the temp keeps building to nearly 300 or the fire dies. 

I play with the dampers making very small .5 adjustments to try and finagle it, but I cannot seem to get it right. 

When I do seem to get the temps in a semi stable range around 230-260 (after LOTS of adjustments), after about an hour I go to spritz my meat with some apple juice and the temps take off again (Obviously because I just fed it a lot of oxygen) and never seem to come back down. 

I have read about this "volcano" method of lighting the coals, but I literally have not found any videos or pictures on how to set that up. 

Basically, I have no idea what I am doing wrong and I could use someone being critical of my process to give me some advice and direction. 

Thanks for any feedback!

When you say dampers, are you adjusting both the bottom and top?

Once you get to around 180, I'd set the bottom to around 2-2.5 and then from there just adjust the top. You should be able to get control of your Akorn from there.