John Setzler

Grate Temperature vs Dome Temperature

Here's another question that I get asked frequently:

Hi John
I was referred to you by [source deleted]. I’m very new to cooking with a KJ so trying to learn quickly.

Most recipes call for cooking at a certain temp, presumably as shown on the KJ thermometer. Recognizing that the temp at the grate level is typically hotter by 20-50 degrees than the dome temp (which is what the thermometer is measuring ). Does the suggested cooking temp take into consideration this variation.

I’ve heard that there’s lots of debate on the internet about this subject. Some suggest using a monitor that registers grate level temp. If so, how does one reconcile with the recipes suggested cooking temp.

All the best,

[Name removed]

In all MY cooking and in my recommendations to others, I use the dome temperature. The dome temperature is the most consistent temperature reading inside your kamado grill. On the occasions where I use temperature controllers to operate my grill, I still use the dome temperature as my reference. I normally clip my electronic grill temperature probe directly to the stem of the dome thermometer so it will be as close as possible. If I am unable to do that for some reason, I use the temperature controller to make my DOME thermometer read at or near my desired temperature regardless of what the digital temperature at the grate reads.