Lighting...

T-RoyPDX

I'm a newbie concerning kamado cooking.  I've had a smoker for years (WSM) that I used briquettes and a chimney starter for.  With My Big Joe III, I've tried both Weber fire starters and a MAPP torch.  Right now, I really like using the MAPP as it gets things started in a hurry.  20 or so seconds on a spot and it's lit, vs. waiting for the fire starter to get things going.

Am I missing anything here - seems like using the torch works fast and great vs the slower fire starter method?

I’ve tried several ways to light the lump. I’m using the JJGeorge propane lighter currently and loving it. I liked using the starters as well though, just not the price of them. To me the starters do a really good job at preheating the Kamado which in turns starts pulling air into the firebox to get things moving along. The only other problem and one I despised  with the starters was starting them in the wind when I lived in Wyoming. Other than the price and starting them in the wind, I’d still be using them today. 

glad you mentioned it

I've been using either half or whole chimney of RO. depending on how much fire and /or how long I need a burn.

I either lay down a layer of Big Block an pour the chimney fire on, or vise versa. Have not figured out which works best. On occasion, I made an oreo cookie...BB RO more BB. The Chimney fire usually has leftover block from the last fire.

I've seen videos of torches and fire starters. I have used fire starters on kettle grills, worked good. I always bought them when the local store had them on close out. I don't like the price either. 

7 hours ago, T-RoyPDX said: