BRGriller

Just got my Classic 2! Anything beginner tips/must buy additions

I finally went all in a upgraded from my small little weber go anywhere to a kamado. I'm finally able to do way more things with this guy and I'm excited, especially smoking.

I'm fairly new to grilling in general.. only been messing around with steaks and burgers. Did some ribs before but that was a bit tough with the small weber GA.

I also got a joetisserie as a free gift with the purchase.

Will add more pics when I get the chance.

Are there anything I should know for my first time on a kamado or the kamado joe in particular? 

Planning on doing a boston butt or brisket for my first cook

Some questions I do have though 

1. Is the top vent supposed to just sit on top loosely? It doesn't fit snug at all and it's easy to lift it off, but it doesn't fall off when I open the lid. 
  2.  How important is getting a cooler to let meats rest? Could I just wrap it in foil/towels and let it sit on the counter
  3. Any accessories/tools I should get? I have the ravenna cover ordered and a $20 instant temp reader from amazon that I bought a while ago.
  4. I have a chimney that I've been using for the little weber, are chimneys alright for kamados?
  5. I've always wanted to get a grill grate since a lot of people recommends one for steaks, but is there one for the classic 2?

Sorry for all of the questions, trying to get everything down as I start my journey into kamados 

Thanks guys! It's been awhile since I've used a forum and man do I miss it. Seems like a lot of discussions take place on things like reddit nowadays.

classic2.jpg

Welcome. Congrats. 

Please stop by and introduce yourself. 

As for tips. 

1) ask as many questions as you like.  

2) read the manual 

3) watch all of Johns videos

4) learn fire temp management before cooking. Practice, 250, 350, 450 before adding protein. 

If you can’t get to temp, it’s probably a lack of air flow. 

Start there.  

1 hour ago, Ben S said: