Struja

Kamado Joe in COLD Climates

I am new to this ceramic grill world and probably should have thought about this before I pulled the trigger on my KJC III, but hopefully I will be ok.

My KJ is on my rear deck.  I have a KJ cover and it is up against my home so it has a bit of protection from the elements from our house, but not much.  I typically grill all year round (on my Weber natural gas grill) and used to grill on my Weber Kettle and my Traeger all winter long.  The cold doesn’t stop me but the question is, will the cold stop my grill?  

First question...Will extreme cold crack my KJ?  I am talking about -25C or colder.

If those temps won’t crack my KJ, what if I try to grill at those temps (remember - outside in elements)?

If I can grill in the extreme cold, any limitations on what I should or should not do?  

Anything else you can share about the KJ in very cold winter temps?

Cracks come from thermal shock. We start small fires, so everything warms up together. Otherwise, it's as safe as any other rock. 

OK, mine lives in a garage and I'm a weenie when it comes to cooking in snow. More power to you, eh!

Have fun,

Frank

It’ll be the best cold weather cooker you’ve ever owned. Don’t force the lid open if it’s frozen or you’ll lose a gasket. At least the old felt gaskets could damage if frozen. Not sure about the new gasket system, but as you know, any time ice glues two surfaces together problems occur. With that, you can put a starter cube in the bottom vent to thaw before opening. Other than that, fire it up and enjoy. My BGE’s stayed outside unprotected in Wyoming and used the same as in the summer. Well mostly...more pork butts and longer cooks as opposed to grilling. 

8 hours ago, Drusen said: