mliebs

Taking a walk over to the dark side

I've been grilling on my Classic II for the last 18-20 months and absolutely love it.  For some reason I've been wanting to buy a stick burner but at the end of the day I purchased a Pitts and Spitts Maverick 1250 pellet grill.  It should be delivered in the next hour or two so I'm going through the manual so I can start the burn in and give it a try tomorrow.  I'm curious to know how many people have the KJ and a pellet grill and what your thoughts are.  My long term plans are to use this through the winter (with my KJ) and order a Lone Star Grillz offset in December.  

Good choice on the P&S 1250, it's supposed to be a great grill. I use my BJ and my Timberline 1300 all the time. Some things I prefer, like chicken, on the 1300 and some thing I will only do on the BJ. They both have good and bad points but I think you will really enjoy the convenience of the pellet grill and the flavor from the pellet grill is just different then the BJ. 

I don't have a pellet cooker yet, but a Traeger 1300 D2 is in the plans. The combination of simplicity and huge rectangular space is difficult to duplicate. 

The versatility and temperature range of the kamados is tough to beat, but there is a lot of room for complimentary cookers. 

I have a BGE and a Traeger, I'm trying to like the pellet grill but so far its been a struggle. To me the Traeger is an oven, it works but doesn't excite me, a superior pellet grill might be a different story though.