Hedonist

Brisket fail. What did I do wrong?

Firstly, hello all, I'm a newbie to the kamado world but am an experienced BBQ cook. I recently bought a kamado Joe classic 2 and the first cook was a big success. Second one was ok, and third one was an epic fail. At this rate, I should just give up! But of course I will persevere. 

I'm hoping to get your collective wisdom on what went wrong. Here is what I did and what happened:

3kg Wagyu brisket - this wasn't the whole brisket, but 60% of it

7.5 hours at 230 degrees

Apple juice in drip tray

Sprayed with solution of half water and half apple cider vinegar

Internal temp 150 degrees when taken off BBQ, 154 degrees when wrapped (I know this is way too low and should be 200. So this is my strongest suspicion as to what went wrong. Too low temp and for too long, given that the size of the meat isn't huge. But I don't understand why the temp won't go up since I cooked it for so long!!)

Rested for an hour

Here's what happened when tasting came:

Meat was chewy and tense, including the internal fat layer

Not much of a bark

Your insight will be much appreciated!

Jack

Welcome, please stop by and introduce yourself. 

I think you already mentioned the brisket was removed too early and that was the problem.  Most people find the bark sets at 160-170 IT before wrapping, then they let the IT climb to 195-210 F where they probe for tenderness as the end point. 

Any time you introduce a water pan it increases the time it takes for the brisket to "exhale" it's own internal liquid content.

Until this happens, it can't come up to temp.

In addition, when cooking at 230, you can expect the cook time to nearly double the time it takes to cook at 300.

Thank you both. I'm trying to understand the reason why the IT was so low and couldn't get up higher after 7.5 hours at 230. 

What adjustment would you have made based on the above parameters?