Steve325

Temperature controller recommendations?

What are you guys using? I have the 2019 Louisiana Grill kamado. 

I don’t really need WiFi control, but I guess it would be a perk

i don’t know what these pictures are that are being added. This isn’t even my grill

20190922_165027.jpg

20190922_165012.jpg

I've been using the Rock's Stoker for years on a drum and about a year on my kamado.  It's manufacturer discontinued.  I've not used any others but I read about all of them.

If I had to buy one today, I'd buy the FireBoard.

I have a BBQube TempMaster Pro, seems to do the job, bit pricey, but it does have 4 probe ports (comes with a grate probe, long probe, & short probe) has bluetooth (isn't the best on range but is functional) and they sell a sous vide attachment (no idea how it works never done sous vide).  It isn't wifi controlled, you have to set it from the device, but you monitor it and setup your probe alarms and timers through the app.  Daz a contributor on here makes them I believe.  Super neat device wouldn't trade mine for anything.

Owner of a PartyQ said it worked fine for him... until he tried an overnight brisket and the batteries crapped out.  We rigged up a spare wall wart I had (I have collected about 1,300,650 of the things over the years, I counted them) and now he runs it via an extension cord and is a happy camper.  For those of you contemplating buying it, he had no gripes with how it worked, but he was super pissed about limited battery life.

Tom

PS:  I now have 1,300,649 wall warts left.  

Maybe he needs a better brand of battery or to check the "use by" date on the package.

I've done overnight brisket cooks with mine and the batteries had enough charge left to do shorter cooks afterwards.

On 10/9/2019 at 6:33 AM, Chasdev said:

Maybe he needs a better brand of battery or to check the "use by" date on the package.

I've done overnight brisket cooks with mine and the batteries had enough charge left to do shorter cooks afterwards.