cwhuling

Porchetta Rotisserie guidance

This Christmas I was thinking I would try a Porchetta.  I have watched several videos and things look straight forward for preparing the pork belly.  I was wondering about a drip pan while rotissereing the porchetta?  I have done pork belly in other forms and have always used a drip pan to keep the grease from the fire, but I have not seen any examples in the videos of someone using a drip pan?

Also, if anyone has any other advice on a Porchetta please share! 

Following this thread, costco had bellies on sale the other week and i picked up two, and split them in half, with this in mind for at least one of them

Also just following, but I will say I don't see where the drip pan is necessary. Just move the coals out of the center. I'm new with my Joetisserie, but with chicken at 350 I bank the coals to the back, and with al pastor at 500 I banked to the front and back leaving room in the middle for drippings. It did not make a mess of my grill. Seems like a drip pan would just give you a pool of grease that could catch fire.

Porchetta is on my list but I don't know the cooking temp.

I made a Porchetta for Christmas dinner.