Team402

My -steak-your-position-in-the-november-2019-challenge entry

Here is my entry into the Steak Your Position November’19 Challenge.

I’m starting out with a NY Strip Steak that I bought from my friend Scott Barao at HedgeApple Farm. I have been buying my beef from this farm for the last several months and the more I learn about how beef is processed the more I prefer to go with my local farmers that don’t pump their beef full of drugs, chemicals, grains and corn. 

57C51566-51F1-4815-B61C-E508BFE99DD0.jpeg

I started my cook with allowing my Akron to come up to 450 degrees. While I was waiting for the grill to come up to temp I started with basic seasoning, salt & pepper

0EA2B8B3-4650-419C-9543-7CCBD23DB7B2.jpeg

I let the steak sit for about 45 mins to an hour while manipulating the vents in my Akorn, during this time I gave it a quick spray of some butter to also absorb back into the steak.

At this point it was ready for hitting the heat. I initially started with about 5-6 mins per side off to the side of the heat to what I call “high heat slow cook”.

C14A3423-BAA6-4A95-8420-A6E483759F97.jpeg

After a couple of turns it was time to put the blocker (cast iron skillet) on the steak and slow down the cooking process. At the same time it was also a good opportunity to add moisture and flavor to the steak. I used a piece of hickory chunk to lift up the skillet off the grille so I could get the steak off the grille but still stay on the heat. The moisture part comes from butter that I put in the skillet and allowed to slowly melt. I mixed in some various grilled vegetable seasoning and periodically spooned it over the steak

7B9572F4-8165-4831-A193-B66C623D549F.jpeg

64211007-862D-4BC9-80CC-FC930137606C.jpeg

9656A088-4F5F-471F-8E73-885430086628.jpeg