brute_strength

Akorn or Kamander for first kamado?

Hello, all.

Newbie here.  I skipped over the intro post, as I 1) don't yet own a kamado and 2) am trying to make a decision quickly.

I'm very interested in getting into one of these cookers.  I really appreciate the versatility, and I only hear great things about the food coming off these grills.  I found out pretty quickly that the insulated steel-body kamados are the most reasonable way to enter the fray.  I took that a step further, and have made arrangements to pick up a used one on Wednesday.  It seems in fairly good condition from the pictures and the owner is throwing in the stone diffuser and a cover, all for $100.  I have also, however, come across information on the Komander.  Although similar, most of the reviews I've read imply (or outright state) superior build-quality over the Akorn, and that it handles the high temps better.  I also like the unique bottom vent design.  I found a deal online that would let me order a new one for about $170, with free shipping.  If it helps, I plan to do a fair amount of both smoking-type cooks and high-temp sears.

I've been searching the net in general (and this forum in particular) for comparisons and suggestions, but have come up pretty dry.  I'm hoping putting the question to the community directly works better.  As a side note, the money I'd save with the Akorn I had planned to invest in some GrillGrates as I really like the pronounced sear marks.  My budget for grills is pretty much non-existent, which is why I want to try and make the best decision.  I'll have to live with it for a few years at the very least, lol.

Thanks so much in advance for your advice.  Let me know if I need to shed anymore light.