Kimosabe

Why do I need a kamado..?

Convince me.. Well, actually..convince my wife!

I have a 22 inch Weber Master touch and an 18 inch WSM. I really want a kamado joe!! I don’t know why! They look soooo cool!! I really can’t justify the €2,000 price tag though and my wife keeps telling me “you’re crazy! The food will just taste the same!”. I know it will in reality but I still want one.. The problem is I know I really don’t need it!

Please convince me!!

Technically I suppose you could argue that you want to replace both of those with a Kamado (although I would probably want to keep them and the kamado).  The main argument for a Kamado is its versatility and efficiency.  You can't run either of the grills you listed anywhere near as long on a load of fuel.  My Akorn with temp controller will run 24 hours or more on a smoke without refueling and probably still have some coals left. While the Kettle is closer in versatility meaning you can do high heat as well as smoking it isn't as good at either as a Kamado and runs through fuel like at an extremely higher rate.  The argument you can use for a kamado against most other grills is they will outlive just about anything since the main body of stuff like the KJ is ceramic.  The problem is well cared for Webers will last just as long.

They Are Fun! 

Also extremely versatile! 

The design allows low and slow or sky high for pizza! 

Can produce extraordinarily flavorful food! 

GET ONE! 

You need one for sure! 

I guarantee you will love it! 

I have only ever heard of a single kamado being returned and that was a stick burner guy. He's used to messing with the fire constantly. That is a pain in the ### with a kamado. Another reason you fill the firebox every time so you don't have to break down the pit (remove everything) to get to the fire. 

Even if you have to start with an Akorn.