Sign in to follow this  
sxmo

Clean smoke vs dirty smoke?

I'm quite new to the Kamado Joe grilling and still learning a lot of things. I read some things today about offset smokers and pellet grills that caught my attention - namely that these produce a more clean smoke. There is a discussion going on here about the pellet Joe and also one on the Egghead forum about offset smokers with some good reasoning behind it. In comparision with a Kamado we choke off the oxygen and that would more likely produce dirty smoke.

Using a Kamado I have learned to look for the thin blue smoke and thought of that as the holy grail of smoke. But now reading about offset and pellet smokers I learn that there is even more to it.

So, my question is, how do I produce the cleanest smoke possible with a Kamado Joe? Will a digital temperature controller affect the smoke in a negative way? For example, the iKamand v2 is more or less choking the oxygen supply completely at times in order to control the temperature. Any special considerations regarding the placement of the wood chunks? I usually place the wood chunks on top of the charchoal and then let the grill come up to temperature for 1-2 houes before cooking. I also use the less is more principle when adding wood chunks.

There are a few articles on the forum about smoke quality. 

There's another piece by CeramicChef somewhere specifically about using a smoke pot like a retort to force the wood smoke directly into the coal bed.