Sign in to follow this  
mr-future

accidentally went "nuclear"

I was doing smash burgers on a griddle on my new Akorn. To get the fire going (firebox completely full of lump), I left bottom and top vents all the way open. When it reached 400, I noticed that one of the ash bin latches was undone, so extra air was getting into the firebox. I closed the latch, moved the top vent to almost closed, opened the lid, then proceeded to do smash burgers... with the bottom vent all the way open.I actually thought that the fire wouldn't get bigger if the lid was open - I am pretty new to this, as you can see. Well, as I was finishing the burgers, I started to notice that the grill area was too hot for me to work the burgers. Then I noticed flames coming up from the firebox, which was completely lit. I could smell burning plastic. When I closed the lid, the thermometer shot up to 600. After shutting both vents, the temp eventually dropped. The first time I attempted to burp the grill, there was a backdraft that stopped just short of my face (which hopefully demonstrates the grill is well sealed). I think the burning smell was from the plastic handles of the ash bin, which had started to turn white.

This unfortunate event helped me learn some of the basic mechanics of controlling the fire. I hope that my gaskets weren't compromised... I am thinking of doing smash burgers on the gas grill, instead - although I want at least one successful run on the Akorn. For next time, I am thinking that I need to nearly close the bottom vent once the lid opens. If anyone has any suggestions for quickly getting top grill to 450, opening the lid, and keeping the fire under control, I'm all ears...

Did you use accelerant? If not it sounds like you had way too much coal lit at once, in the future if you want to do high heat grilling do not use that much coal. Opening both to full alone wasn't the issue, it was that you had too much fuel all get max temp.