Drud0616

Temperature differences

Hello I'm fairly new to smoking and hope some of you can help me with an issue i've been having with my Kamado grill.  I have a Vision pro-C which overall I would say I am fairly happy.   The grill has a cast iron bottom grate and a 2nd level grate stacked on top.  During smoking sessions I clip a thermometer in the bottom grate, one on the top grate, and another one sticking into the top vent.  Strangely, i receive 3 wildly different tempt.  I try to achieve a temp of around 225F. The bottom grate measures 200F, top grate measures 265F, and top vent 220F. All temps were very steady over a 5 hr cook. Do any of you have this issue?  I figured since Kamados are so well insulated the temps would be even throughout.

45 minutes ago, Drud0616 said:

Hello I'm fairly new to smoking and hope some of you can help me with an issue i've been having with my Kamado grill.  I have a Vision pro-C which overall I would say I am fairly happy.   The grill has a cast iron bottom grate and a 2nd level grate stacked on top.  During smoking sessions I clip a thermometer in the bottom grate, one on the top grate, and another one sticking into the top vent.  Strangely, i receive 3 wildly different tempt.  I try to achieve a temp of around 225F. The bottom grate measures 200F, top grate measures 265F, and top vent 220F. All temps were very steady over a 5 hr cook. Do any of you have this issue?  I figured since Kamados are so well insulated the temps would be even throughout.