Halp! Waaaayyyyy too hot

So yea im sure this is an ongoing question in these forums... and i should probably search for the answer... ive tried YouTube vids and a few other resources but cant seem to get a good answer... a friend gave me a akorn jr recently and this is my first time using it. Im using harwood lump. The issue is i cant get the thing to go below 400 degrees... ive tried burping it. Ive tried closing the vents... but the moment i close it the temperature skyrockets up to 400. Im trying to get it to the 250 - 275 range.... any advice is greatly appreciated.. 

P.s. im standing in front of it right now with my poor ribs begging to be put in 

Hi and welcome.

Start a very small fire, VERY small.  Shut the vents down after you hit 150f.  Once you go past your target its too late.

Do not use a chimney to start it, you need a fires the size of a tuna can.

Good luck and read the stickies in the akorn section. 

Thanks.... yea i think i used way to much coal.... almost filled it halfway... this was given to me used... so i sorta winged it... i see now the errors of my ways... anyways to fix it ? Im currently trying to get it to temp by spraying it down with water.... or would i need to remove some coal ?

2 hours ago, Judas said:

Thanks.... yea i think i used way to much coal.... almost filled it halfway... this was given to me used... so i sorta winged it... i see now the errors of my ways... anyways to fix it ? Im currently trying to get it to temp by spraying it down with water.... or would i need to remove some coal ?

When I do ribs, or anything else low and slow, I fill it full with charcoal and start a very small fire as @philpom said. It's the size of the fire and the amount of oxygen, not the amount of charcoal in the grill.

6 hours ago, Judas said:

... a friend gave me a akorn jr recently and this is my first time using it. ...

First off, WELCOME!