Temp spikes on Pitboss/LG K24

ChrisGrillman

Hi all,

I’m a noob learning to cook on my first Kamado grill, which is the new LG K24 from Costco.  I’m having difficulty with my low and slow cooks, and am hoping for some advice and tips.

First, just a note on how I’ve modded it.  Based on the comments on these forums, I added gaskets around both my bottom slider vent and my top vent to get a better handle on the airflow.

That being said, here’s what happened to me today.

I loaded the grill up with lump coal (Frontier brand from Home Depot — fairly big variety of small and large pieces) alongside some old pieces left over from a previous cook and lit one fire with both vents open and the top up.  After about 10-15 minutes, I saw that there were some smoldering embers around where I lit the fire, so I set both the bottom and top vents to where I wanted them and closed the lid.  

After about 30-45 minutes, the temperature look liked it stabilized around 225 degrees.  I noticed that I had forgot to put on the heat diffuser, so I opened the lid real quick and put it on.  After another 30 minutes or so the temperature appears to stabilize around 250-270 degrees.  That was about the temperature I wanted for my tri-tip, so I opened the lid and fairly quickly put the roast on.  I did not make any further adjustments to the vents at that time.

I came back about 10 minutes later, and saw the temperature had spiked to about 350 degrees — hotter than I wanted.  Fortunately it didn’t matter that much for my tri-tip roast, so I let it go until I liked the internal temperature and then proceeded with a high heat reverse sear.

But here’s my problem — even though it worked out okay for this cook, the temperature spiking a hundred degrees from 250 to 350 would work on a true low/slow cook like brisket or butt.  And, I’ve had similar problems in the past with low/slow cooks on this grill like with some ribs.