Sweet deal on Kamado Joe Classic II and accessories

Hello all,

I'm excited to join the group of KJ owners. Last week I lucked upon a barely (4x) used Kamado Joe Classic II with KJ cover, cast iron grates, pizza stone, and cast iron half moon griddle for $750.00 on FB Marketplace. I say lucked upon because I was actually looking for firewood and stumbled across this offer. The previous owner's kids didn't like smokey food so he sold it. I have been cooking on an Akorn since 2013, but when I moved back to the States a few months ago I had intended to purchase a KJ Classic II in the spring after I got the house and yard settled. When I saw this I felt like I couldn't pass it up. 

I've only cooked on it twice so far, but we've had pulled pork and pizza, both have been great and got rave reviews. There is a slight adjustment from cooking on the Akorn, but it's really not that big a deal. Anyway, I'm excited looking forward to many great cooks and time with family and friends ahead, as well as to share with and learn from this group.

KJ accessories.jpg

small butt cooking.jpg

small pulled pork.jpg

20201126_143340.jpg

20201128_195959.jpg

On 12/3/2020 at 3:48 PM, len440 said:

Nice up grade from the akorn ( don't mean to bad mouth the Akorn it's a good grill) looks like your off to a rolling start

Thanks, Len. The Akorn is a great cooker and I learned a ton using it, but after 7 years it was showing its age. I bought it because I didn't want to spend KJ bucks on smoking if I wasn't 100% sure it was something I would want to continue doing, which is the advice I would give to someone who is considering the kamado life. Now I know enough about kamados that I would not hesitate to spend the money for a Joe, and I got lucky to boot.